Phil King


[email protected]


  • Strategic Business Development

  • Civil Litigation

  • Energy, Electric Power and Telecommunications

  • Eminent Domain

  • Arbitration & Mediation


  • Texas House of Representatives, 1999-present

    • Chair, House Redistricting Committee

    • Member, State Affairs Committee

    • Member, Criminal Jurisprudence Committee

    • Past Chair, Homeland Security and Public Safety Committee

    • Past Chair, State and Federal Power Responsibility Committee

    • Past Chair, Regulated Industries Committee (Telecom, Electric Power Markets, Pipelines)

  • National Board of Directors (2015 National Chair) American Legislative Exchange Council

  • Director, Texas Conservative Coalition Research Institute

  • Colonel, Texas State Guard, Director Strategic Initiatives

  • Police Officer/Captain, Fort Worth Police Department (1974-1989)


  • J.D., Texas A&M University School of Law (formerly Texas Wesleyan University School of Law) (1993)

  • M.B.A., Dallas Baptist University (1986)

  • B.A., Dallas Baptist University (1981)


  • Admitted to Practice

    • State Bar of Texas

    • United States Supreme Court

    • United States District Court for Northern District of Texas

    • United States Court of Appeals, Armed Forces


  • Distinguished Alumni Award, Texas Wesleyan University School of Law (2006)

  • Outstanding Alumni Award, Dallas Baptist University (2001)

  • National Legislator of the Year, American Legislative Exchange Council (2005)

  • Freshman Legislator of the Year, Texas House of Representatives (1999)

  • Texas Housing Champion Award – Texas Association of Builders (2016)

  • Sen. Tom Haywood Lifetime Achievement Award – Texas Alliance of Energy Producers (2016)

  • Decatur Baptist Honorary Alumnus Award – Dallas Baptist University (2014)

  • Legislator of the Year, Texas Association of Builders (2007)

  • Civil Justice Leadership Award, Texans for Lawsuit Reform (2008)

  • Law Enforcement Hero, Combined Law Enforcement Associations of Texas (2013)

  • Courageous Conservative Award, Texas Conservative Coalition (2013)


  • Frequent speaker on issues of public policy.